Willie Nelson & Sister Bobbie’s December Day: Willie’s Stash Volume 1 Arrives Tuesday, December 2

Willie Nelson & Sister Bobbie’s December Day: Willie’s Stash Volume 1 Arrives Tuesday, December 2

📅02 December 2014, 02:17

December 2, 2014

Willie Nelson & Sister Bobbie’s December Day: Willie’s Stash Volume 1

Arrives Tuesday, December 2

Album Premieres Online via New York Times Press Play Exclusive

“Talkin’ December Day” EPK, “Who’ll Buy My Memories”

And “Laws of Nature” Music Videos Streaming Now


Legacy Recordings is celebrating the December 2 release of Willie Nelson and Sister Bobbie’s December Day: Willie’s Stash Volume 1 with online video premieres and streaming exclusives.

On November 23, in anticpation of the album’s release, December Day premiered as a streaming exclusive online at the New York Times Press Play (nytimes.com/pressplay).

Talkin’ December Day,” a revelatory EPK featuring interviews with Willie and Sister Bobbie and music from the album, may be seen online at Vevo (http://vevo.ly/ghdwTC), YouTube and Willie’s official website (http://willienelson.com).

Who’ll Buy My Memories,” the first music video from December Day, is currently up online with its successor, “Laws of Nature” premiering on Country Weekly(http://www.countryweekly.com/videos/video-premiere-willie-nelson-and-sister-bobbie-laws-nature) before becoming more widely available online on Willie’s site and others.

“Summer of Roses/December Day,” a new performance video of tracks from December Day, is slated to premiere online following the album’s release on December 2.

Willie and Sister Bobbie filmed their performances for the “Who’ll Buy My Memories,” “Laws of Nature” and “Summer of Roses/December Day” music videos at Willie’s Pedernales Recordings Studio in Austin, Texas.

“Talkin’ December Day,” “Who’ll Buy My Memories” and “Laws of Nature” are rooted in Abbott, the small Texas town (2010 Population 356, nicknamed “The Home of Willie”) where the musical jounrey of Willie Nelson and Sister Bobbie begins.

Willie Nelson and Sister Bobbie’s December Day is the eagerly awaited first installment of Legacy’s Willie’s Stash archival recordings series.  Willie’s Stash will present a variety of releases, personally curated by Willie Nelson, culled from decades of recording and touring over the course of a singular career that’s established him as an American musical icon.

December Day: Willie’s Stash Volume 1 is already finding critical success on both sides of the Atlantic.  In an early review for The Guardian (November 29), Neil Spencer observed, “…. the Texan troubadour, 81, is speeding up rather than slowing down, this being his fifth album in two-and-a-half years….a ramble through his vast back catalogue….Nelson’s worn, almost conversational vocals remain arresting….Bravo.”

In the Boston Globe’s review of the album (December 2), Steve Morse poses the musical question, “If you’ve wondered what Willie Nelson might sound like in an old-school jazz club, then here you go….” before calling December Day “…a special album for Willie…” and singling out “What’ll I Do” as “Essential.”

An eclectic album collaboration from outlaw country legend Willie Nelson and Sister Bobbie Nelson, December Day debuts intimate new recordings of the siblings performing 18 songs they love.

As brother and sister growing up in Abbott, Texas, Willie and Bobbie Nelson learned to read music and play instruments as pre-teens under the tutelage of their grandparents, who raised them.  They played together in Texas bands early in their careers and Bobbie has been an essential member of Willie’s Family Band since its official formation in 1973.  Willie and Bobbie’s deeply intuitive musical bond, formed and developed through of decades of practice and spontaneity, can be felt throughout December Day.

With songs personally selected by Willie and Bobbie, December Day includes new versions of gems from Willie’s extensive songwriting catalog (“Permanently Lonely,” “My Old Peculiar Way”) alongside some surprising cover tunes (Al Jolson’s “The Anniversary Song,” Irving Berlin’s “Alexander’s Ragtime Band,” “What’ll I Do” and “Always”).

The album’s sound is augmented by contributions from other Family Band members, including harmonica player Mickey Raphael and the late Bee Spears on bass on “What’ll I Do,” recorded during his poignant last session with Willie.

In his first-hand observer liner notes for December Day, Family Band member Mickey Raphael provides fascinating details of the album’s performances and insights into the artists’ creative process.

“As long as I can remember, Willie and Bobbie, who ride together on Willie’s bus, spend some of their traveling time jamming on their favorite songs,” Raphael writes.  “Bobbie has a travel size keyboard on the bus and Willie’s guitar, Trigger is always by his side. This is where the idea for December Day was born. ‘Why not record our favorite songs like we play them for ourselves?,’ Bobbie asked….

“….When it comes to a brother-sister collaboration with the longevity of Willie and Bobbie, there is beauty in keeping things simple. ‘Less is more’ is the underlying theme. We’ve heard these songs before but not like this. The spontaneity born out of familiarity is what this record, December Day, is all about.

“It’s not rocket science, it’s alchemy.”

December Day is Willie’s fifth release since signing to Legacy Recordings in 2012. His last Legacy release, Band Of Brothers, was released in June 2014 and hit No. 1 on Billboard’s Country Albums chart.

December Day is produced by Buddy Cannon and recorded by Steve Chadie at Pedernales Recordings Studio in Austin, Texas.

Musicians on the album include Willie Nelson (Trigger) and Bobbie Nelson (piano, B-3 organ) with Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Kevin Smith (bass), Bee Spears (bass), Billy English (drums, percussion) and David Zettner (acoustic guitar).

Willie Nelson and Sister Bobbie

December Day (Willie’s Stash, Volume 1)

  1. Alexander’s Ragtime Band (Irving Berlin)
  2. Permanently Lonely (Willie Nelson)
  3. What’ll I Do (Irving Berlin)
  4. Summer of Roses / December Day (Willie Nelson)
  5. Nuages (Django Reinhardt)
  6. Mona Lisa (Ray Evans & Jay Livingston)
  7. I Don’t Know Where I Am Today (Willie Nelson)
  8. Amnesia (Willie Nelson)
  9. Who’ll Buy My Memories (Willie Nelson)
  10. The Anniversary Song (Al Jolson & Saul Chaplin)
  11. Laws of Nature (Willie Nelson)
  12. Walkin’ (Willie Nelson)
  13. Always (Irving Berlin)
  14. I Let My Mind Wander (Willie Nelson)
  15. Is the Better Part Over (Willie Nelson)
  16. My Own Peculiar Way (Willie Nelson)
  17. Sad Songs and Waltzes (Willie Nelson)
  18. Ou-es tu, mon amour  (Emile Stern & Henri LeMarchand) / I Never Cared for You (Willie Nelson)


* * * * *




For further information, please contact:

Elaine Schock at SHOCK INK, elaine@shockink.com , 818.932.0001


Tom Cording at Legacy Media Relations, 212.833.4448

Maria C. Malta at Legacy Media Relations, 212.833.6511
Gabby Gibb at Legacy Media Relations, 212.833.4597


Share this article: