The Willie Nelson Family's "I Saw The Light" Available Friday, November 12


“I Saw the Light”
–The Willie Nelson Family’s Soul-Stirring Cover Of Hank Williams’ Country Gospel Standard–
Available Friday, November 12


The Willie Nelson Family Album Arrives Friday, November 19



photographer – Pamela Springsteen
NEW YORK – Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release The Willie Nelson Family’s version of Hank Williams’ immortal country gospel classic “I Saw the Light” on Friday, November 12.

  The Willie Nelson Family “I Saw The Light” track here.

  A centerpiece track from The Willie Nelson Family album (available Friday, November 19), “I Saw the Light” features Willie Nelson (Trigger, lead vocals), Lukas Nelson (acoustic guitar, lead vocals, background vocals), Micah Nelson (bass, drums, background vocals), Bobbie Nelson (piano), Paula Nelson (background vocals), Amy Nelson (background vocals) and Mickey Raphael (harmonica).

  “I Saw the Light” is the latest focus song selection from The Willie Nelson Family, following the release of “All Things Must Pass” (the Willie Nelson Family’s interpretation of the George Harrison signature song) on October 29 and “Family Bible” (a newly-recorded version of one of Willie’s earliest compositions) on September 23.

  Willie Nelson talked about The Willie Nelson Family and more in an exclusive interview on NBC’s Today (aka The Today Show) broadcast Thursday, November 11. Link here.

  Hank Williams began writing “I Saw the Light” in January 1947 and recorded it that April at his first session for MGM, who released Hank’s version as a single in September 1948. While not a commercial success upon its original release, “I Saw the Light” has become of of the world’s most immediately recognizable contemporary hymns, a standard in country music and gospel. One of his favorite songs and a staple of his repertoire, “I Saw the Light” has been performed by Willie Nelson on numerous occasion including a memorable grand finale at Farm Aid 1992.

  Produced by Willie Nelson and Steve Chadie, The Willie Nelson Family was recorded and mixed by Chadie at Pedernales Studios in Austin, Texas.

  (The Willie Nelson Family will be available on CD and digital formats. Pre-order here.)


album cover – The Willie Nelson Family
  Willie Nelson – The Willie Nelson Family

  track listing

1. Heaven and Hell (Willie Nelson)
2. Kneel at the Feet of Jesus (Willie Nelson)
3. Laying My Burdens Down (Willie Nelson)
4. Family Bible (Claude Gray, Paul Buskirk & Walt Breeland)
5. In the Garden (traditional)
6. All Things Must Pass (George Harrison)
7. I Saw the Light (Hank Williams, Sr.)
8. In God’s Eyes (Willie Nelson)
9. Keep It On the Sunnyside (A.P. Carter)
10. I Thought About You, Lord (Willie Nelson)
11. Too Sick To Pray (Willie Nelson)
12. Why Me (Kris Kristofferson)


* * * *